Naturally T // Best Braid Removal Regimen EVER!

Happy Tuesday guys….Vacation’s over *moment of silence*……But that’s ok.  I love my job and to be honest….I kinda missed getting dressed up and going to work…kinda lol.

In other news!  After a little over 2 months, the Senegalese twists are OUT!  And I am definitely excited about being able to style my curly natural mane once again!

Now for those of you who have had braids before in your life, you know that the worst part of the process is the removal of the braids and trying to detangle those dreaded (in both senses of the word) knots that form at your roots, full of dirt and shed hair that hasn’t gotten the chance to be…shed… ( ._.) lol

So…every time I remove my braids, the detangling process always seems to be THEE worst.  I get it done, and even though I always feel like I MUST be bald by the end of it all…I never really am.  But this time around, I decided to do some hardcore research. So I put out the question on Instagram and received some recommendations (shout out to Louri & Camille Rose Naturals!).  Sadly, my local Target in the DMV didn’t have the Camille Rose deep conditioner in stock (womp womp) so I couldn’t get that 😦  But I improvised.  Also, on a lot of forums I saw recommendations for Kinky-Curly Knot Today, which is a product that I’ve heard A LOT about in the past but for some reason….forgot about(?) or just never really felt the need to have in my life….until now!  BUT I’m getting ahead of myself….

After doing my research, I set off on a trip to Target and picked up my weapons of mass knot destruction.

image

 

Since Camille Rose Naturals recommended doing a deep conditioner, I did just that.  I couldn’t find the product they recommended so I picked up the Dark & Lovely Au Naturale Anti-Breakage Strength Restoring Conditioner (in retrospect…I probably should have picked up the Dark & Lovely Au Naturale Knot Out Conditioner….but there’s always next time).  First, after I cut off about 5 inches off the ends of all of my braids, I rinsed my braids off in the shower and did an ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar) rinse on my scalp.  Then after massaging my scalp with the ACV mixture, I washed that off, towel-dried my hair, and then applied the DL Au Naturale conditioner to the roots of my hair/my new growth and covered my braids with a plastic cap then the shiny conditioning cap.  I left that on for about…1-2 hours (I actually can’t remember now…).  Then I removed the caps and started the unbraiding process.

I divided my braids into four sections and started unbraiding each section.  With each braid, I started undoing them from the very ends.  Once the braid was removed, I took about a dime-sized amount of the Kinky-Curly Knot Today and applied it to the root/new growth/gigantic knot of dirt and shed hair….and when I tell you that the know MELTED through the knots! NOT even exaggerating!  I didn’t even have to use the wide-toothed comb until I completed half of each section! It was like….some type of miracle product! It is absolutely amazing and I will recommend it to anyone who’s look for a great detangler.  It made the process sooo painless and easy, and I lost very little hair this time around.  I barely had to use my old faithful Mane ‘n’ Tail Detangler, actually.  I only sprayed that to the really stubborn knots that needed a little extra help.

After I unbraided half of each section, I twisted my hair up and just went to sleep.  Then the next day I went to my lovely hairdresser Amanda B., and she hooked my hair AWL the way up!  I got my hair deep conditioned, blown-out, and trimmed.  I ❤ Amanda.  She always makes my hair look AMAZING!

image

 

And that’s that!  I am sooooo so happy to have found a good regiment for removing my braids without losing too much hair. And yeah….definitely gonna go back to Target and stock up on a few bottles of Kinky-Curly Knot Today since Target is currently having a sale (YES GIRL A SALE!) I may even pick up a jar of the Curling Custard to try a wash and go this weekend…maybe…

Oh Target…how I love thee….

Until next time….

Love and God Bless,

– T

Follow T:

Instagram / Twitter / Google+ / YouTube

Enter the GIVEAWAY!

 

Leave a Reply

