At-Home Spa Beau-T // Facial

For some reason, a lot of people seem to thing that being a resident physician means that you’re big ballin’. Well….let me tell you right now: That ain’t it! lol  Being a resident has taught me how to budget and save so that I can meet my needs and still splurge every now and than.  But I’ve had to definitely cut costs here and there in order to meet my savings goals and not live beyond my means.

One area that I’ve become pretty good at doing for myself is when it comes to Spa-like or beauty-related services.  I do my own makeup, nails, facials, body care.  Now if I could learn how to thread my own eyebrows, do my own bikini waxes, and give myself massages tho! LISTEN! I would be set for life! lol

I’ve been wearing makeup more frequently (about 2-3x a week) since the Spring began…partially because I’ve actually been having a life and going out and enjoying doing fun things lol.  But as a result, I really have been doing the BARE minimum when it comes to my daily skincare regimen (more on my current skincare regimen to come soon…I promise!) and my skin has been like, “Girl, WHETT?!” in response…smh

So I recently decided to give myself an intense at-home facial to cleanse my pores from all the impurities over the past….month.  Can you believe I haven’t done a mask treatment on my face in almost a month? When I say failures of life! S.M.H.  But I have been consistent with cleansing…exfoliating…toning, and moisturizing daily.  I really do need to do better though because I know if I continue to be consistent with my skincare regimen AND my healthy habits, my skin will flourish. *message to self*.
image

Every now and then, when I want a really deep exfoliating scrub, I combine baking soda with my daily cleanser to polish my face.  Baking soda is such a great cheap and effective exfoliant, in my opinion, but it can be quite harsh so I don’t use this combination very often.  My daily facial cleanser of choice over the past several months has been the Burt’s Bees Soap Bark & Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream.  I first heard about this product in a YouTube video from the lovely Maeling (more widely known as Natural Chica) in which she was sharing her skin story and updated skincare regimen for her oily acne prone skin.  Having pretty much identical issues to hers, I pretty much adopted her skincare regimen from the day that video was published until now, with a few adjustments for my own personal preference.  BUT! Again…more on that to come later.

I’ve also noticed that my skin LOVES Tea Tree Oil, when it comes to spot treating my really bad acne breakouts.  I’ve also heard great things about the Tea Tree Skincare line for blemish/acne-prone skin from The Body Shop.  One of my favorite YouTube Beauty Vloggers, ItsMyRayeRaye has raved about this line in many videos and again has a similar skin story to mine.  So I recently picked up the mask and Toner from this line to try out and….I actually love it!  I’ll definitely be trying to use these more often and who knows…I may update my skincare to incorporate the entire line. We shall see.

I also decided to try this Biore Warming mask, which I used before the Tea Tree Mask from The Body Shop.  I used the warming mask first to open up my pores and then the tea tree mask, which is a cooling mask, to help close and refine my pores.

Back to the oils.  Once I finished applying the masks, and toning my face with the Tea Tree Toner from The Body Shop, I apply a mixture of Tea Tree Oil, Oil of Oregano, and Extra Virgin Olive Oil to my skin, paying particular attention to my blemish-prone/affected areas.  Both Tea Tree Oil and Oil of Oregano are natural astringents and antiseptics that help to kill acne-causing bacteria.  They are both very strong (in effect and in scent…lol) so the olive oil kind of cuts that down (more details on how I mix those oils in a later post).  My face still smells like food afterwards but I am perfectly fine with that lol.

And last but not least, I apply a thin layer of Vitamin E Cream to my skin, as Maeling mentioned in her video, this cream is AMAZING, super moisturizing, and over time slowly helps to fade areas of hyperpigmentation or post-acne scars.

Also, every now and then, I’ll notice a bit of peach fuzz along my upper lip and that has GOT to go!  So not cute.  I’ve recently started using the Nair Hair Remover Moisturizing Face cream, which I purchased from my local Target.  It’s pretty effective!  I usually do this after my entire intense facial routine just because I don’t want to further irritate the skin after hair removal since it is a chemical depilatory.

image

So yeah….I really hope I can remember to treat my skin a little bit  a lot better this sumer (especially) and from this day forward.

Do you guys and gals get facials or have your own at-home facial regimens? I’d love to hear what you find to be effective.

As always thanks so much for stopping by and reading the blog!  I really appreciate all of the support you guys have been showing since I decided to relaunch the blog a few months ago.  Planning to update the design of the blog soon as well so stay tuned for that!

Until then….

Love and God Bless,

– T

Follow T:

Instagram / Twitter / Google+ / YouTube

Enter the GIVEAWAY!

One thought on “At-Home Spa Beau-T // Facial

Leave a Reply

