POP UP POST // Happy Memorial Day! + My Week on IG

image

 

Happy Memorial Day loves!!!  First of all, I must say a special thank you to all the individuals that have served and continue to serve bravely so that we can enjoy this freedom that we have. Even something as simple as blogging and freedom of speech isn’t a luxury some have elsewhere and for that I am grateful. Thank you!

AND can I just say that it feels SOOO good to be off today? lol.  I’ll try to remember that when I’m working on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s later this year…*cries real tears* 😦

This past week has been super de duper busy but OH so much fun!!  Definitely one of the best weeks I’ve had in a really long time.

I’ve ventured into the world of subscription boxes, you guys…smh.  I’ve been intrigued by the concept (I mean, who doesn’t want a guaranteed package of goodies to be delivered to their doorstep on a monthly basis??) but also skeptical.  After doing lots of research, and scoping out reviews on YouTube, I decided that Onyx Box and Curlbox would be where I’d spend my hard earned, strictly budgeted coins.  This month I was able to sign up for Onyx Box (Curlbox subscriptions were sold out, as always lol), which features a nail art theme (haven’t received it yet but they ship out this week! Excited!).  I also purchased the exclusive Beautiful Textures Onyx Box, mainly for the Texture Manageability System, but it also came with 3 other full sized Beautiful Textures products (all for just $15!!) that I’ll have lots of fun trying out!  You know the product junky in me got my entire life…lol.  The Texture Manageability System is a heat straightening system (not a relaxer or texturizer) formulated specifically for naturalistas who want the straight look every now and then with a reduced risk of heat damage and a guarantee that their hair will bounce back to their original curl pattern.  After seeing this awesome YouTube review AND curl reversion by MsVaughnTV, I was SOLD!

But then….I got my hair straightened this week so I guess I’ll be waiting to try that out sometime later lol.  I FINALLY found a stylist that I absolutely love and trust completely to straighten, trim, and style my natural/transitioning hair.  If you’re in the DMV, definitely head over to Mane Movement and check out Amanda B.  She is an amazing stylist and treats my hair BETTER than even I do.  She detangles gently, recommends appropriate treatments for your hair’s needs, uses a heat protectant, AND uses a heat setting (on the blow dryer & flat iron) that’s effective but I lie to you not….I don’t feel ANY heat on my scalp. AT ALL!  And for someone that’s gone to Dominican Hair salons for the past however many years, that’s a really big deal!  And the straight look lasts as long as I want it to!  I usually pin curl my hair each night because I like the body & curl (HATE flat hair that I get when I just wrap it…with a passion) and that works to keep my hair looking LAID! lol  And when I deep condition and wash my hair the next time, my curls are back and poppin’! Love her…never letting anyone else touch my hair ever again lol.

Now the reason I got my hair straightened is because as you all know by now, I was invited to be the Keynote Speaker at my former high school, Largo High School’s Class of 2014 Graduation Ceremony (click HERE for more on that)!!! It was such an amazing and humbling experience.  I love love LOVE inspiring young people!  And to know that I’m far from perfect but can still be an inspiration….it’s a beautiful thing 🙂

Remember the collab I posted last week with JusPose Photography and Lauren Larry, LRC of Golden Life Coaching?  Well one of the photos was featured on blackfashionmag.com!!! I’ve submitted and been featured a couple of times before (first time by my fave Jana after our style collab, and then following my last shoot with JCKA Photography).  And each time is just super fun!  It’s cool to know that people kinda enjoy the product of what you do for fun 🙂  And it totally makes me Tumblr famous right? lol

And speaking of JusPose Photography, over the weekend, Justin took a super adorable Sabbath portrait of my family and me!  I love my family so much and I’m so glad he captured that love so well with his lens 🙂

Have you guys gone to see the new X-Men movie “Days of Future Past” yet????  If you haven’t, go check it out!  The ironic thing though is…I’m more excited for the NEXT movie coming out in 2016 after that little sneak peak following the end credits at the end of Days of Future Past.  It has the potential to be soooo epic!!! So yeah…don’t leave after the lights come on and the credits roll on this film.  Thank me later.  Then after that, tweet me so I can share the insight into what promises to be an exciting next chapter in the X-Men series.
HINT: Channing Tatum has already signed on to be a member of the cast for the upcoming film. NUFF SAID! lol

And last…but certainly not least:  Meagan Good knows I exist!!! LOL!  On Sabbath, I decided I wanted to wear this really lovely red wrap dress that I own and was trying to find a lip color/makeup look to really play up the awesomeness of the dress.  So I scoured the net and found this lovely image of Ms. Good.  After imitating the look and posting side by side pics on IG (and tagging Meagan Good, of course…lol), she commented!!!  She said it was beautiful and wished me a Happy Sabbath! (Just in case you don’t know, she’s married to an SDA minister and film producer, Devon Franklin).  When I say I squealed and swooned a million times…I did! lol  I love that Meagan’s inner beauty and faith continue to shine through despite what naysayers may think and express.  She’s such a gorgeous human being, and I love her!

And that wraps up my past week on IG!  Now, I’m heading off to have some brunch with my prayer partners!  Maybe I’ll snap some pics and share more on that later this week but if not, I definitely will post some pics over on my Instagram so go ahead and follow me!

As always, thanks so much for stopping by and supporting this lovely hobby of mine!

Until next time….

Love and God Bless,

– T

Follow T:

Instagram / Twitter / Google+ / YouTube

Leave a Reply

