Streetwear, I’m Ready for You…

I’ve really been OBSESSED with streetwear recently.  Ever since I posted my “Romper Jock” outfit about a month ago and realizing…it really could have been sooo much more epic if worn with a nice pair of black & white Jordans, I realized the tragic truth:  I have NO kicks!  I literally have two pairs of sneakers in my possession: one for working out and one for when I’m on-call at the hospital.  I have no fashionable sneakers to wear out and about.  One reason for this is that…I genuinely dislike closed toed shoes and wearing socks *shrug*.  But the more my personal style evolves (although I will forever be feminine and flirty at the core), I’m becoming curious as to what else I could pull off and love.

Now being a streetwear novice, I’m not even sure where to begin, but some of the items that I’ve seen as part of the streetwear wardrobe and love seem to be staple items and I wanted to share some of those with you.  Ready? 🙂

GRAPHIC TEES

Now two companies/brands/collections have really grabbed my attention when it comes to the graphic tee game.  One I’m super excited about because it is owned and produced by one of my favorite bloggers’, Krystal Knight’s (from The Feisty House), fiancee, Quentin Scott, and it is called Tallawah Collective,  and it was launched last week!

Tallawah Collective

Tallawah Collective

The reason I’m so excited about this collection is because of everything it stands for (which you can find out by visiting the “About” section on the site).  And as someone also of Caribbean heritage/ethnicity, I definitely can appreciate the infusion of the Jamaican roots (no pun intended ( ._.) into the collection.  Here are some of my favorite designs.

Tallawah Collage

I’m looking forward to the launch of Krystal’s streetwear line coming soon as well!  See her talk more about Tallawah Collective and her upcoming launch by clicking HERE!

The second brand is called Design by Humans and my boyfriend actually introduced me to their tees a little while ago, and I have to admit…I’m lowkey obsessed.   And if you’re a graphic designer or such, you can even submit your designs for a t-shirt, and be great. Like…just check out these awesome designs *swoon*

Design By Humans Collage

SNAPBACKS

I’ve never been a big hat wearer but….some of the snapbacks I’ve seen circulating lately just…give me so much life.  My friend/DMV stylist Jana from The Jane Tales rocked this one when we went out to brunch a couple of months ago and I’ve loved it ever since.  I kind of want it in my life.  These are some other snapbacks I’ve been eyeing:

Snapback Collage

DENIM SHORTS & BOYFRIEND JEANS

There’s not much else to say…I have none and I need some. lol

FLY KICKS

And of course I have to talk about the kicks.  The perfect pair of sneakers are sure to set off any outfit and take it to the next level.  For example, if I had the Jordan SC-1’s to wear with my “Romper Jock” outfit, it would have been everything to me. EVERYTHING!  I started scouting through Jordans and Adidas and I’m really beginning to question why I ever hated sneakers in the first place…

All in all, this post just serves as an announcement to anyone who cares that my personal style is truly evolving.  And I’m kinda liking the direction this is going.  I don’t own any of these items at the moment but my birthday is coming up in a month and *eh em* I’m hoping certain people take note 😀 LOL.

Are you into streetwear?  What are some of your favorite pieces to rock?  Let me know in the comments down below and I’ll be sure to check them out!

Love and God Bless,

– T

2 thoughts on “Streetwear, I’m Ready for You…

  1. For the RRC hat I wore to brunch, —-> http://readyready.bigcartel.com/
    Also, the men’s section at Urban Outfitters always has great fitteds. I’ve gotten a few online (on sale) and love them
    For denim shorts, hit up some thrift stores and cut those “mom jean” levis yourself! it’ll be a great DIY project. And so much more cheaper.

    Welcome to the Street Life!

Leave a Reply

