Here Comes The…Wedding Guest (II): Shah-Shah Wedding

I am so super excited about this post!  On May 18, 2013, I attended my first ever Indian/Hindu Marriage Ceremony, and it was for one of my co-residents, Nidhi, someone I absolutely adore and has become my shopping buddy and fellow foodie, and her lovely fiancee Bunty!

I definitely had to do some research to figure out what to wear to this ceremony.  Some of the things that I learned as far as how to dress:
1.  The blingier, the better.  Lots of jewelry is worn by the bride and all of the female wedding guests
2.  Try to wear a sari if you can.  You’ll definitely fit right in.
3.  Black and white are no-no’s. It’s all about BRIGHT COLORS!

Now as far as numbers 1 and 2 went…I was at a loss.  As some of you may have noticed, I don’t usually wear jewelry as part of my outfit posts (or in my everyday life actually lol).  And I definitely didn’t know how or where to find a fab sari for the occasion.  But bright colors! I can definitely do!  So I decided to compromise with a brightly colored dress with some blingy accents and go from there.  Here’s the result!

DSCN2376

Dress – Forever21 / Shoes – Burlington Coat Factory / Bangles – Target / Clutch – DSW / Scarf – TJ Maxx / Umbrella – DSW

I had such a good time and the food was AMAZING! I LOVE Indian food and there was sooooo much of it!  I had no idea that you literally eat…ALL day! lol I was in heaven!

Wishing Nidhi and Bunty all the best in their new marriage (and lots of beautiful babies! lol)

2 down, one more wedding to go!  Last post in the HCTWG trilogy is coming up on July 9th.  But have no fear; there will be a new post on the blog next Tuesday 🙂

Thanks for stopping by and supporting this series and the blog!

Love and God Bless,

– T

2 thoughts on “Here Comes The…Wedding Guest (II): Shah-Shah Wedding

Leave a Reply

