Out & About: “Revenge Wears Prada” Book Tour w/ Lauren Weisberger

TGIF!  And surprise, surprise!  Here we are with a blog post! lol

I just couldn’t wait a whole 5 days to share this with you guys so….lucky you!  Friday blog post.  And not just one, but TWO!  Will be posting a “Dressed to A T” post shortly so you guys can see what I wore…but I’m getting WAAAAY ahead of myself.  Rewind.

About a week ago, I picked up the June issue of Elle Magazine so that I’d have something to read when I went to sit by the pool after work that afternoon (sounds glamarous doesn’t it? lol).  While flipping through the pages as I sat poolside later that day, a familiar name and title caught my attention…

image

I immediately Instagrammed and Tweeted this picture.  Lauren Weisberger, author of the New York Times bestseller The Devil Wears Prada, turned major motion picture starring Anne Hathaway, Meryl Streep, and Emily Blunt has written a sequel to what has become a pop culture phenomenon, and it is titled Revenge Wears Prada:  The Devil Returns.  As soon as I saw this feature in Elle, I knew that I wanted to get my hands on the book.

I was first introduced to Weisberger’s work in 2008 when, upon searching for something to read over the summer, I discovered that her newest book at the time, Chasing Harry Winston, was on EVERYONE’s summer reading list.  It was then that I discovered that she was the author of The Devil Wears Pradaand at that time I hadn’t even seen the movie (don’t worry!  I’ve since seen it multiple times and own my own digital copy which resides in my iTunes account lol).  After I read Chasing Harry Winston that summer, I fell in love with Weisberger’s writing style and immediately went to see what I was missing out on with The Devil Wears Prada.  And fast forward 5 years from then (10 years from the release of Weisberger’s first book), here we are today.

image

I actually wouldn’t have ever thought about trying to attend one of Weisberger’s book tour events if it wasn’t for my friend and fellow blogger Jana who suggested that I get my life together and find out when she was coming to a town near me (not in those exact words….but pretty much lol).  So I did!

The event I attended took place at the Katz Jewish Community Center in Cherry Hill, NJ and was themed “Ladies Night Out with Lauren Weisberger”.  Not only was it a book signing/discussion with the author event, but it was also a fundraiser and clothing drive event as well to help collect gently used women’s professional attire, shoes, and accessories to help women in need of these items.  I actually was able to bring a good number of “old” shoes that I’d been planning to take to Goodwill once I completed my closet cleanse this weekend (thinking about selling some items…yay or nay?)

DSCN2467

There was a VIP reception prior to the actual “Questions for the author” forum, and with the purchase of my ticket I was able to attend, get a signed copy of the new book, take a picture with Lauren Weisberger, and enjoy some awesome hors d’oeuvres.

DSCN2487

DSCN2481

DSCN2482

DSCN2485

When I introduced myself to Lauren Weisberger, she was so sweet and she even said she liked my frames!  I was GEEKED to say the least lol.  Later on during the reception (as I was stuffing my face with a cupcake) I overheard her say that she grew up in Allentown, PA which is where I currently reside.  So of course I had to share this and where I worked with Ms. Weisberger because she CLEARLY had time to hear my life story (not…lol).  She was pleasantly surprised and thought it was “terrific” *swoon everlasting* lol.

DSCN2478

Following the reception, all guests were able to enjoy an interview of sorts in which Ellie Krupnick, Senior Style Editor of The Huffington Post, had a sitdown chat with Weisberger and audience members got to ask their burning questions.  It was super cute and lots of fun.  It’s so interesting how well Anne Hathaway conveyed the personality of Lauren/Andy….

DSCN2492

DSCN2493

The one thing from the entire night that stood out most to me was Wesberger’s reply to the question, “What advice would you give to aspiring female writers?”  Weisberger shared a quote from Hoda (of Kathy Lee & Hoda) that I think is absolutely perfect:  “You can be a successful and accomplished woman and still be a nice person too.”  I couldn’t agree more….all in all it was an amazing night

DSCN2512

DSCN2517

If you haven’t heard of Lauren Weisberger or her work, PLEASE get familiar!  I’d start off by either reading or watching The Devil Wears Prada and then I’d urge you to pick up a copy of the sequel, Weisberger’s newest book, Revenge Wears Prada, in bookstores everywhere now 🙂

Love and God Bless,

– T

2 thoughts on “Out & About: “Revenge Wears Prada” Book Tour w/ Lauren Weisberger

Leave a Reply

