2011 Bahamian Vacay Series Part 2: Queh Queh – A Taste of Guyanese Tradition

As many of you may know, I am Guyanese by birth. I was born there and lived there for 7 years before my fam and I relocated.  One of the big Guyanese traditions that my family and I still celebrate, is that of the Queh Queh. Yes, I’m gonna explain, so wipe that question mark off your forehead lol.

Basically, a Queh Queh is a Guyanese version of a rehearsal dinner and bridal party all rolled into one.  There’s lots of food, family, music, and dancing along with traditional folk songs involving drums and…some interesting lyrics lol.  Of course we HAD to have one the night before my cousin’s wedding, and I had to capture some of it lol.  It’s a lot of fun and really keeps our heritage alive.  But…I’ll let the video below speak for itself.

Hope you guys enjoyed this taste of my culture (which I STILL have so much to learn about).

Love and God Bless,

– T

One thought on “2011 Bahamian Vacay Series Part 2: Queh Queh – A Taste of Guyanese Tradition

Leave a Reply

