A Call to Stand Apart: Day #2

My Prayer:  Lord, help me to take life seriously…help me to take this journey seriously.  I don’t want to waste the time that You have seen fit to give to me on this earth.  I ask that you please be with all of Your youth, myself included; protect us as we seek to find the path that You have set for our lives, and help us to make You proud. -Amen

What Blessed Me from Chapter 2:

The story of Jesus in Jerusalem found in Luke 2:40-52 is kind of like a coming of age story to me…This is when we really see Jesus stepping out on His own, literally.  Not only from a physical standpoint, separating himself from His parents to “be about His Father’s business (verse 49)” {Major sidebar: but that has always been amusing to me, considering that Jesus, although in human form, was still “God the Son”, and the Trinity is three in one, so handling His Father’s business was handling His own business.  It was kinda like Him saying “Don’t worry about me! I’m handling my business!” lol. Oh? Just me? okay….} but also on a spiritual basis.  To be able to have an intelligent discussion with those individuals that were pretty much like what we consider the elders in the church today, at 12 years old…Jesus had to really know His stuff.  Better yet, He had to know who He was.  And that speaks a lot about what Mary and Joseph taught him at an even earlier age…but that’s an entirely different topic 🙂

– “He observed that the standards of society and the standards of God were in constant conflict. People would forget God’s words and observe their own traditions that had no value (ACS, p. 17).”  ~~ Is this really so different from what we see today?  Who are we really trying to please here as we live from day-to-day? And I’m definitely speaking to myself throughout all of this… Scripture says that, “When the enemy shall come in like a flood, the Spirit of the LORD shall lift up a standard against him (Isaiah 59:19, KJV).”  But really, are we aware of the standard God has for us?  Are we living in accordance with it? Or does society’s standard hold more weight than His?  Just something to think about…

– “[…] not even respect and love for His parents could turn Him from obedience to God (ACS, p. 17).”  ~~ Those are pretty strong words there.  But it’s exactly in accordance with what is reiterated multiple times throughout the Bible.  Yes, we are called in the fifth commandment to “Honour thy father and thy mother […] (Exodus 20:12, KJV).”  But as it is qualified later on in the scriptures, we are to do this “in the Lord” (Ephesians 6:1).  As hard as it may be sometimes, especially when you’re younger and you’re living with your parents and seem to not have very much control over your life as it seems, it’s important to remember this:  Honor your parents (and your family/loved ones for that matter) without dishonoring God.  Simple as that.

– “Early in the morning He would go to a quiet place to meditate, read the Bible, and pray (ACS, p. 18).”  ~~ What an example, right?  I don’t know about you, but I can HONESTLY say that I can tell the difference when I start the day this way compared to when I neglect to spend time with God.  When I do spend that time, I feel at peace, more energized, and less worried about whatever challenges the day may bring.  No, it doesn’t make everything go away…or make the world all better. BUT it changes my perspective and my attitude which makes all the difference.

*Feel free to leave your thoughts below*

Tonight’s Reading:  Section 1, Chapter 3 – “Jesus’ Ministry Begins with a Party” (p. 19-21)

Love and God Bless,

– T

Leave a Reply

