Spiritual Growth….?

Hey guys.  It’s been a long time since I’ve written a semi-personal blog on here but I really just wanted to share this with you all.  It’ll probably be brief…maybe.

For a while now I have felt like I have been stifling my own spiritual growth.  I feel like I’m starving my spiritual life.  I’m not nourishing it with what it needs and I can literally see the effects of it.  It really is true what they say, at least I’ve found this to be true in my life recently:  Sometimes you can get so caught up in doing “God’s work” that you neglect to foster what gives you the motivation and the strength to do that —> that personal relationship with Him.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE doing everything I can to serve Him. It really does give me life and it helps sooo much to keep me going.  But, as cliché as it may sound…I need to get back to when I first believed.

A relationship, any relationship, cannot grow if time isn’t invested by the individuals involved to get to know one another and to truly give their all to help the relationship flourish.  And one’s relationship with God is no different.  My relationship with God…is no different.  Except…at this point it really is all on me.  He already knows EVERYTHING about me, how amazing is that?  But what do I really know about Him? How sad is that….smh.  I want to spend time learning more about Him, learning about the purpose and the plan that he has for my life:  spiritually, personally, professionally, and every other way possible…

To kind of help kick-start this effort I have made the conscious decision to go back to something that I have been severely slacking on: evening devotion. Yup…I’ve been slacking. I haven’t been spending time with God before I lay my head down at night.  Yeah, I start my day off with Him by praying and reading my Sabbath School lesson, as most of you know, and that’s all well and good. But there is something to be said about having that time at night, as dog tired as you may be, to just spend time with God and let Him know how you felt about your day, your frustrations, your triumphs.  To “listen” for His encouraging words, or His chastising words in reply.  To end the day with some sort of message from Him.  I really want and NEED to get back to doing that.

When I woke up this morning, I decided that I was gonna start doing that today.  Spend time with God at the end of the day…not just in prayer and meditation, but learning more about what He wants of me.  To help me do that, I will be reading a book titled:  A Call to Stand Apart by Ellen G. White.  I’m making this a 30 day journey starting today.  If you’d like to know how you can join me on this journey, look out for the next post cuz…this one is getting long.  But I hope that you will, and even if not…start/continue taking your spiritual growth seriously.

Love and God Bless,

– T

Leave a Reply

