Hair Growth Challenge Update!!!: Relaxer Update #1 + Mini ORS Relaxer Review

Hey guys!  Time for a hair update!!!! And I’m super duper excited to share the results with you guys!!!!

So I relaxed one week shy of 16 weeks for a few reasons: 1. My mom was home this weekend and graciously was willing to do my relaxer; 2.
The next few weeks/weekends are most likely gonna be pretty crazy/hectic getting my life together/attempting to enjoy the summer; and 3. My hair was starting to rebel ever so quietly.  All in all, it was just about that time to put the relaxer in.  And a 15 week stretch is NO easy feat!  Especially when I almost punked out around 10 weeks.  Very proud of myself for sticking it out! 🙂

This go around, I tried out a new relaxer:

Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Built-In Protection
No Lye Relaxer System

I must say that this relaxer is absolutely AWESOME!  The entire kit just blows my mind with all the stuff that it has inside.  The only thing that I do wish that it had was a petroleum base for my scalp and edges to protect it from getting any burns.  BUT, here’s the thing, even without ANY base applied, I didn’t get ANY chemical burns on my scalp!  And I definitely had a couple of itching spells throughout the preceding days.  So that definitely really impressed me!

So what comes in the relaxer kit?  As per Sally Beauty Supply online:  Kit includes: Olive Oil Built-In Protection No Lye Relaxer, Olive Oil Built-In Protection Activator, Creamy Aloe Shampoo, Replenishing Pak Conditioner, Olive Oil Incredibly Rich Oil Moisturizing Hair Lotion, Olive Oil Wrap/Set Mousse, Latex gloves, mixing stick, step-by-step guide to proper relaxing at home.

The process went very smoothly.  So thankful that I have a mother of many talents…lol. I applied the relaxer, washed it out, then washed with the shampoo.  Then I DC’d with the Replenishing Pak conditioner (which smells HEAVENLY BTW), then rinsed with cool water.  Initially I roller set my hair…but then I got very annoyed by the heat.  I’m usually pretty good with bearing the cost for the sake of flyness, but it’s summer time in the DMV, no bueno.  So I got out of the dryer halfway through the process and blew my hair dry on warm air for the rest of the way.  THEN I took curling iron and put some big curls into my hair.  Here are the pics!

THE STYLE

 

*****************************

THE PROGRESS!!!

March 25, 2011

 

July 8, 2011

 

Do you guys see that??? It really is true, taking pics make the progress a lot more evident.  I am definitely very excited to see that I’m well on my way to my goal of APL.  I will try my best to stick to what’s been working for me (which reminds me, need to run the Split-Ender through my hair while it’s straightened….)

Here marks the beginning of another 16 week stretch!  See ya around October 28!

Love and God Bless,

– T

Leave a Reply

