Skin Care Update: Prescriptions and Ingredients

As I mentioned in my last skin-related post, I’m supposed to be on a dairy fast.  Key words “supposed to be”.  See what had happened was…smh.  It’s been a little hard to do that man!  Free food at the hospital, hot days leaving me craving gelato, ya know.  But I can say I’ve been doing it in moderation and I see minor differences…not very much.  But regardless, I’ve moved on…lol

Last week I finally got a chance to go get a check up at the Doctor’s office (you know, gotta set that example as a future medical professional; tryna practice what I preach), and while there I brought up the issue of my skin and she prescribed me some Retin-A (which is a Vitamin A derivative that’s one of the first line agents in topical acne treatment, meaning that’s what you apply to your face) along with Minocycline (an antibiotic that’s also a first line agent but in systemic treat, meaning it’s a pill you ingest).  Now this may sound surprising, but this is actually the first time I’ve spoken to a medical professional about my skin troubles, which thinking about it now is pretty wack, for lack of better terminology, considering it’s been plaguing me from high school.  I guess it’s one of those things where I really thought over time it would all resolve on its own…we see how well that turned out.  But anyways, I’ll definitely be keeping you all posted on how these new additions work.

Also, in talking to my physician about just general skin care, she recommended gentler products for both cleansing and moisturizing.  Nothing to harsh in my cleanser and nothing that would clog my pores or aggravate my skin, which makes sense.  I’ve already been on the right track with my Cetaphil cleanser but when I took a closer look at my moisturizers I made some shocking discoveries.  My daytime moisturizer, Aveeno Active Naturals Positively Radiant Daily Moisurizer with SPF 30, has received lots of rave reviews and has pretty much been adequate for me except for my face being naturally oily and the moisturizer doesn’t really do much to help with that.  When I took a closer look at the ingredients however, I was shocked to see that WATER was actually the very last ingredient (!!!), which usually means that it’s the ingredient with the least quantity in the product.  I mean, what the heck???  Isn’t the point of a moisturizer to keep the moisture in your skin?  How are you gonna have moisture without water?  Smh Aveeno, SMH! 

Now on to my night-time moisturizer, Ponds Dry Skin Cream (which I used at night-time).  I don’t know why I didn’t pay more attention to the ingredients when I actually bought the product but here goes.  Good news:  The first ingredient is Water.  Yay!  Bad news:  The very next ingredient is mineral oil.  BOOO!  Mineral oil, although in itself not bad, when used on the skin it can be difficult to absorb and possibly lead to clogged pores.  Needless to say, I decided to replace my moisturizers with some less expensive yet better alternatives.  and here they are.

NEW DAYTIME MOISTURIZER:
Black Opal Daily Fade Lotion with SPF 15

Black Opal Daily Fade Lotion 2 oz. SPF#15
First Ingredient = Water
Bonus:  It supposedly helps to fade dark spots (of which I have many b/c of my acne) for a more even skin complexion.  Not really counting on it, but it would be a nice bonus/surprise.

NIGHT TIME MOISTURIZER:
Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion for All Skin Types

Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion

First two ingredients:  Water and Glycerin (cha-ching!)

So yeah, hopefully I won’t have to do any more tweaking to my skin care regimen anytime soon.  Will definitely keep updating.  Ready for this next phase.  Stay tuned!

Love and God Bless,

– T

2 thoughts on “Skin Care Update: Prescriptions and Ingredients

  1. I was recommenddd this blog byy my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written bby him as
    no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are amazing!
    Thanks!

    • Hi there! I’m so glad you found this helpful. I actually have more updates coming soon so hopefully you stay tuned! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

