My Skin Still Sucks + Dairy Fast/Experiment & Science-y Stuff (^_^)

Refer to title.  WOMP WOMP!  Now time to move on to another plan.  As per some discussions with my friends and some research done on my part, I’ve decided to try something different.  But first some background, and this is basically going to be a paraphrase/layman’s terminology based on a variety of sources and just my thought process as guided by this info.

The underlying cause of acne is due to clogged pores secondary to bacteria, inflammation, failure of dead skin cells to slough off appropriately, and primarily increased oil production by the sebaceous glands, which respond to levels of hormones in the body.  More hormones = more oil production by these glands = clogged pores and acne.  And this is one of the reasons why some women break out around the time of their menses:  because of the high levels of circulating hormones in the blood stream.  Which brings me to milk and milk products.

Now as med students, and probably the general population as well, we’ve been taught that there isn’t a real connection between a person’s diet and the presence/severity of acne.  However, the one discrepancy is when it comes to dairy.  This component of one’s diet has been shown to be associated with acne and here’s why.  Milk and milk products contain a certain level of varying hormones, including estrogens (the hormone that dominates in females), progesterone (the pregnancy hormone), and androgen-precursurs (androgens can be converted to testosterone, the dominant hormone in males) as they are coming from a lactating cow.   And therein lies my though process.

Now I know, how much I love dairy products.  Not big on straight up milk at all.  In fact, I don’t drink milk period.  HOWEVER, my vice lies wherever there is ice cream, cheese, sour cream, yogurt…etc.  See the problem?  If this theory is true, I’ve been completely messing myself up man!  So as hard as this may be I have decided to a little experiment:

For the next two weeks (4/21/11 through 5/5/11), I will be on a complete dairy/dairy product fast.

I actually don’t even know if the dairy products are the major contributing factor to my skin troubles, but considering the amount that I consume, it’s definitely a very high possibility.   By changing only that part of my daily routine, I can definitely get a good hunch.  If I see any significant improvement upon completion of this fast, I will definitely cut back on the amount of dairy in my diet, and seriously consider cutting out all dairy products completely.  *sigh*  This is gonna make going to Chipotle a bit challenging…smh.  But sacrifice is needed…lol

I will definitely keep you guys posted as to what happens.  Hopefully this helps, otherwise, I really am gonna hit up the dermatologist….

**For more info you can reference THIS ARTICLE published in the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology based on a retrospective study**

*DON’T FORGET TO:  1.  Click HERE to follow the blog and THEN 2.  Click HERE to enter for the BIG Giveaway!*

Love and God Bless,

– T

Leave a Reply

