Spring Haul! ~ Beauty and Fragrance

 Since taking my Step 2, I’ve kinda gone crazy doing beauty and fragrance shopping.  Hey, a girl’s gotta celebrate right?  Needless to say, this will most likely be the only big spending trip that I do until…summer officially begins.  Hopefully…Pray for me 🙂 
  
 So, just wanted to share with you guys what I got because I’m pretty excited about the products and I can’t wait to do official reviews on them and let you all know how they work out when I use them myself.  Here we go!

Sephora

1.  Make Up For Ever HD Invisible Cover Liquid Foundation
So As you guys know from a previous post, I’ve been using the Laura Mercier Oil-Free Foundation.  While that offered great coverage and always initially looked really nice on my skin, I definitely noticed that if I wore it for a prolonged period of time, it would turn orange on me, which kinda sucked.  BUT since I paid a cool dollah bill for it, I worked with it, touching up whenever I needed to, definitely wore it to the very end.  And now that the foundation is about to be finished and it’s past the 6 month period that’s supposed to be the limit for keeping foundation/make up/what not, I decided I’d give this a shot.

After doing TONS of research (watching dozens of YouTube reviews by women of color, looking at the reviews on Sephora, etc.) I hit up Sephora.com and found that this foundation was the top-selling liquid foundation with an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars AND the very awesome thing was the range of shades.  This foundation is available in 25 shades (as opposed to the 10 in Laura Mercier, of which I had been using the darkest shade) which is FABULOUS!  And the company was developed out of Paris, France which I hear has a pretty decent appreciation for us chocolate peeps lol.  So I went to an actual Sephora store to get color matched and this was what I ended up getting:

MAKE UP FOR EVER HD Invisible Cover Liquid Foundation in 178 Chestnut
HD Invisible Cover Foundation

178 Chestnut

 

It feels very smooth going on so we’ll see how it goes.  I’ll definitely keep you guys posted! 🙂

2.  NARS Blush and Highlighter
So I pretty much decided to up my make up game as far as technique and some products go.  As far as blush goes, I’ve only ever tried one in my life and that’s elf’s Blushing Rose.  Now for all my beauty gurus out there I KNOW I’m late to NARS, but apparently it’s THE BEST blush and highlight brand out there!  So after doing some more research on good blushes for women of color, and then…eliminating the ones that I was too afraid to try such as Exhibit A and Taj Mahal, I settled on this very pretty soft, dusty rose color called Dolce Vita which is actually very similar to Blushing Rose by elf, and here’s what it looks like:

NARS Blush in Dolce Vita

 

In addition, decided to try my hand at highlighting!  Not sure if I’m really interested in contouring just yet but hey, who knows.  But to get me started, I tried another raved about product by NARS called Albatross.

NARS Albatross Highlighting Blush Powder

Although it looks white in the pan, of course that’s not the color that it puts on the skin; it’s more of a sheer, glowing highlight that you can apply to emphasis the areas where light will naturally hit the face (see?  Research!)

Macy’s
Decided to get a new spring/summer fragrance and what I ended up getting really just slid in at the last-minute, seriously.  I was actually planning on getting either Rihanna’s Reb’l Fleur, Dior Addict 2, or DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom.  However, when I went to Macy’s to just refresh my senses of these fragrances, I came across a fragrance that I’d never seen before and it was weird, because I really didn’t like the original of this fragrance because I felt like it was too strong.  BUT this bad boy grabbed my attention and hasn’t let it go since I sprayed it on my skin and tested it out for a day.

Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh

A whimsical interpretation of the original Daisy fragrance, this scent is more fruity, more bubbly, more fun! Open the bottle and you’ll be transported to a field of sunshine that bursts with the flirty scent of flowers and the cheerful sweetness of fruits. Its light, woody base infuses a subtle but sharp glimmer of musk for an unexpected twist of radiance.
Fun to look at, touch, and open, the gold top of the weighted glass bottle is covered in six soft-to-the-touch daisies with petals in white, pink, and yellow.

Notes:
Natural Raspberry, Grapefruit, Pear, Violet, Wild Rose, Apple Blossom, Musks, Cedarwood, Plum.
Style:
Exhilarating. Bubbly. Playful.

TOTALLY my style!!!  I literally cannot keep my nose away from this stuff!  It’s just so PRETTY!  AND I got this pretty tote bag for free with it:

Free Flower Tote with $65 Womens Fragrance Purchase

I got it in black…may be feeling some “free gift remorse” and wishing I got it in pink since I have no pink purses but hey.  Can’t really go wrong with black 🙂

The scent may be a little bit much for work, but of course I still have my trusty super light (not very long-lasting) Maybe Baby by Benefit.  So in ♥ with Daisy Eau So Fresh though!!!

 Target
From Target I got two new brushes to help with my new highlighting/contouring/blush experience and experimentation

 elf Studio Blush Brush


elf Bronzing Brush
Blushing, Bronzing and Blending Brush

In addition this is a hair product that I heard about from Koos at The Feisty House that I’m looking forward to using on my Curlformer set this weekend.

And that about wraps it up.  If you guys try any of these products I hope they turn out great for you and I will definitely be keeping you posted with reviews on what my thoughts are on everything I got.

*DON’T FORGET TO:  1.  Click HERE to follow the blog and THEN 2.  Click HERE to enter for the BIG Giveaway!*

Love and God Bless,

– T

2 thoughts on “Spring Haul! ~ Beauty and Fragrance

Leave a Reply

