Stretch Week #7: The Side Bun + Bonus Pics :-)

Okay, I know I wasn’t supposed to be putting my hair into a bun until next weekend BUT there are a couple of things that led to this back-up style lol

#1.  I just got my ends trimmed last week and I just really didn’t want to do a bantu knot out.  While they are a great alternative style, they kinda mess up my ends if I’m not really careful and I just didn’t want to be bothered.  In addition, since I’m getting ready to start this hair journey business to see how long I can grow out my hair, protecting my ends is essential so the bantu knot outs may be on hold until further notice for a little bit until I get to certain goals (which I’ll talk about in a later post).

#2.  I attempted to do a lil somethin somethin by putting my hair into some two-strand twists and it was a total #FAIL!!!  Straight up!  And since I had to sing in church today (yup my fam at Park Avenue allowed me to do it again; I sang last time I was here and it was great.  They’re very nice to allow me to…), I had to figure something out really quick because I was already running ridiculously late.  And the bun was just the quickest and easiest option.

#3.  This kinda veers away from why I did the bun, kinda.  But yall, I have SO MUCH NEW GROWTH!  I guess that’s to be expected since it’s been what…16 weeks since my last relaxer?  But the thing is, I didn’t realize how much it was and also the difference in length since the trim because since my hair was straight it looked pretty much the same length that it was before the trim.  When I washed my hair….it shrunk SO MUCH!  I kinda got scared for a second!  I was like dang, I might as well big chop now lol.  And honestly people do BC after 4 months of transitioning, I have a few friends who did it for around that time period…but now I’m babbling.  Long story short I was kinda scared that my hair wasn’t even going to be able to fit around my mesh bun!  But I was being overly panicky for no reason. 

I’m starting to make little changes to help moving into my hair journey a little easier, such as moisturizing and sealing nightly.  I probably missed one night this past week when I was really tired but I’m working on it :-).  This week I did pretty much the same routine.  Instead of my Neutrogena leave-in I used the Herbal Essences LTR since it’s a bit thicker and more readily moisturizes my new growth.  I did use Cantu Shea Butter Leave-in to put in the two strand twists but as stated above they turned out not to be what I wanted.  But then I just untwisted them, detangled my hair and slicked it into the side bun depicted below, using the Cantu Shea Butter Leave-in as my “gel”.  I think I’ll pretty much be bunning my hair for a little bit until I…feel like doing anything else to my hair so I’m not sure if next week will be much different from this style, but we shall see 🙂

Here are the pics:

16 Weeks Post-Relaxer

Texture shot. As my fam would say, "Lookin real dougla" lol

And I figured I’d share with you a few bonus pics of what I wore to church on Sabbath too.  Target Merona Sweaters are the BEST! 🙂

And that’s all folks!  The stretch has been pretty successful so far!  This week was the only time I hit a real rut but hey, can’t win them all right? lol  One more week or so to go!

*DON’T FORGET TO:  1.  Click HERE to follow the blog and THEN 2.  Click HERE to enter for the BIG Giveaway once I reach 100 followers!*

Love and God Bless,

– T

Leave a Reply

