Stretch Week #6: Flat Iron + Trim + Mini Updates

Quite a few things to talk about in this post.  But yes, I did decide to go the salon and get a trim.  I went to Hair Cuttery in Champaign for the first time to get it washed, deep conditioned, trimmed and flat ironed.  I really liked my experience there.  My stylist actually stopped before she trimmed my hair to ask me how much I wanted to get trimmed off.  I originally wanted to get only 1/4 inch off but then….I realized that wouldn’t really be doing a whole lot for the health of my ends.  If I was being realistic, I needed to get at least a 1/2 inch off (which is what I got), and that’s fine.  I’ve never been extra pressed about holding on to length, especially not recently.  I’ve really been trying to focus on getting my hair healthy…which leads me to my next point.

I’m kinda getting bored with my hair guys!  Thankfully doing posts on the blog has made things a bit more interesting so I don’t do anything crazy.  And while I’m still in the midst of this “Relaxer Stretch” challenge, I’m actually already thinking about another challenge for myself/my hair.  I’m just in the beginning stages, putting the pieces together but just as a general overview this is what I’m thinking.  I’ve had what some would think of as “long hair” and I’ve had shorter hair (pretty much by choice) but it hasn’t always been healthy.  And that’s what I’ve been working on for the past year and a half or so.   I think I’m pretty much pleased with the health of my hair now and I’ve learned A LOT about taking better care of it and I really can tell the difference.  But now that I’m kinda getting the hang of that I want to take the next step, and for me that is challenging myself to see just how long my hair can actually grow.  That for me really means babying my ends really because what I have noticed, especially during this relaxer stretch is this:  I get some pretty good new growth!  My problem is I DON’T take care of my ends very much at all, so whenever I go to the hair dresser I have to get a trim which pretty much cancels out any real progress that I made.  So I’m gonna implement some new techniques that I’ve seen around different hair care sites such as dusting and the search and destroy method to take care of my ends.  No more salon trims for me!  I’m doing this by myself starting with the fresh healthy ends that I have right now!  But of course that means coming up and actually sticking to an actual regimen (where consistent moisturizing and sealing will be KEY) and…buying some hair cutting scissors of my own.  I got some prepping to do!  But that won’t “officially” start until after this challenge is over and I’m back home.  Gonna start implementing some small things now.  But stay tuned for that separate post.  Cuz it’s about to go down 🙂

But enough rambling…

Now onto the pics!

15 Weeks Post-Relaxer 

She really straightened out that new growth boy! lol

Maybe I'll make this my starting point...or maybe whenever I decide to get my next relaxer...who knows lol

I’ll be maintaining my hair by pin curling it for the rest of the week. I’ll try to give you guys an update on that look.

See you guys next week! 🙂

Love and God Bless,

– T

3 thoughts on “Stretch Week #6: Flat Iron + Trim + Mini Updates

  1. Go ‘head with your bad self chica. I relax every 3 months, so that’s the longest I’ve stretched. Now I’m wondering if I could go to 4 months.

    • Thanks! Lol
      Yeah I’m thinking 16 weeks may be a bit better than 18 weeks for the sake of breakage prevention and keeping my hair manageable bit so far it’s been pretty good so we’ll see 🙂

  2. […] I also applied coconut oil to my hair overnight and let it penetrate all night and all day before I went to get my hair done.  I went back to the Hair Cuttery to get my relaxer and I made sure to make an appointment with the same young lady that did my hair the first time I went because she did a great job.  You can see pics from that HERE.  […]

Leave a Reply

