I Love Every Sabbath: Champaign Edition (1)

Last time I was in Champaign I found a very nice friendly and Caribbean church to go too called Park Avenue SDA Church and of course that’s where I’ll be going again this time around.  It’s great, and they serve food every Sabbath?  Spiritual and physical food + fellowship?  Can’t get better than that.

Today actually happened to be Caribbean day (which means the food was on POINT!  But I digress… 🙂 ) so everyone was dressed up in clothing similar to their home country’s traditional garb so that was fun.  Just wanted to share with you guys what I got from the service today.  It may be kinda random so I apologize but maybe someone else will receive a blessing from it and that’s all that matters 🙂

SABBATH SCHOOL (yes y’all, I made it to Sabbath School, I’m moving up in the world! hehehe)
– This week’s lesson was on Resilience and this snippet from the lesson, a quote from EGW, really stuck out to me:

“The powers of darkness gather about the soul and shut Jesus from our sight, and at times we can only wait in sorrow and amazement until the cloud passes over. These seasons are sometimes terrible. Hope seems to fail, and despair seizes upon us. In these dreadful hours we must learn to trust, to depend solely upon the merits of the atonement, and in all our helpless unworthiness cast ourselves upon the merits of the crucified and risen Saviour. We shall never perish while we do this—never! When light shines on our pathway, it is no great thing to be strong in the strength of grace. But to wait patiently in hope when clouds envelop us and all is dark requires faith and submission which causes our will to be swallowed up in the will of God. {here’s the part that got me right here} We are too quickly discouraged, and earnestly cry for the trial to be removed from us, when we should plead for patience to endure and grace to overcome.”—Ellen G. White, God’s Amazing Grace,p. 114.

MERCY!

SPECIAL MUSIC

Mary Mary – “Speak to Me Lord”
I honestly forgot just how much I loved this song until I heard it again today.  It’s an awesome prayer, asking God to speak to me so that I will know which direction to follow; His will not mine….

Check out the song HERE.  It’s awesome….

SERMON:  “Final Flight”

– NUTSHELL – Exodus 13 was where he spoke from, relating the exodus of the Israelites to our journey through life in preparation for our “final flight”.

– FAVORITE QUOTE:  “Sometimes we can’t make it to Canaan because we’re too busy thinking about Egypt!” (Word?!!??!?!  Chew on THAT for a minute…cuz THAT is deep)

I was definitely truly blessed today and I was given quite a few things to ponder on and I hope that through this post, you were too 🙂

Love and God Bless,

– T

2 thoughts on “I Love Every Sabbath: Champaign Edition (1)

Leave a Reply

