HotTT featuring: Esperanza Spalding

Yes, once again it was a tie on the votes.  So I went ahead and chose….Esperanza! 🙂

I absolutely LOVE this young woman that’s our featured artist for this week’s Hot Trax Tuesday.  She is an incredibly talented singer, jazz bassist, and prodigy.  She’s just AWESOME!  She is only now beginning to get a small portion of the recognition she deserves (I know some of yall saw her during the Prince Tribute at this year’s BET awards and were like, “Who the heck is this chick?” while I was like  “You betta GET IT Esperanza!!!” eh em…).  Her third studio Album Chamber Music Society is currently out and it is FIYAH!  And that’s putting it lightly.  I was SO ABSOLUTELY EXCITED to see her perform live this past weekend when she came to my part of town….AWESOME!!! 

BTW, check out these pics of the lovely Ms. Spalding’s performance taken by a friend of mine who happens to be an amazing photographer and the founder of Through His Eyes photography:

You can check out more of his work at:

http://www.PhototCC.com

The THREE tracks (yes yall, I really couldn’t narrow it down lol) I chose are just really some of my favorites out of the AMAZING body of work she has released.  Hope you guys enjoy!

I Know You Know
This song is just sick….*smh*

Fall In
The beauty of the words and the melody and the composition of this song….makes me breathless every time I hear it…

Wild Is the Wind
This song is originally performed by Nina Simone.  I definitely LOVE Esperanza’s version better.  Chills and goosebumps every time!  I just love her voice yall….

Don’t forget to vote for next week’s feature below:

Until next week!

Love and God Bless,

– T

Leave a Reply

