Weekly Wash #5: The Bantu Knot Out

Hey guys!  So the winner of the “What style should I choose?” poll was:  THE BANTU KNOT OUT!  (thank you to whoever voted lol)

So this weekend I washed and conditioned my hair and also did a protein treatment with my ApHogee 2-minute Reconstructor (left it on for 5 minutes since I just got my highlights put in last week). 

After I rinsed my hair out from the protein treatment, I applied my Leave-Ins (minus the ApHogee Keratin and Green Tea restructurizer; for two reasons.  1. Didn’t wanna overload my hair with protein since I just got highlights put in, and although that means the hair needs help to maintain its strength, it also means that adequate moisture is needed as well.  Too much protein may equal brittle hair if there isn’t enough moisture.  And 2. I’ve learned that sometimes mixing other products with my curling creme isn’t the best idea…now back to our regularly scheduled weekly wash).

Then, with my spray bottle handy and my Miss Jessie’s Curly Meringue at arm’s reach, I started sectioning my hair into small sections, applied 1/2 to 3/4 of a dime-sized amount of the Curly Meringue to each section and proceeded to two-strand twist the section then put the two strand twist into a bantu knot.  Confused? lol  No worries, I have a video to demonstrate by the AWESOME Ambrosia, aka xGOLDn on youtube, seen here:

And here’s how the hair looked after all the two-strand-twist bantu knots were in:

I would usually just let them air dry like this, but since I did them kinda late at night, I sat under my hooded dryer for about 20 minutes, then put on my satin bonnet and went to sleep.

The next morning, using some Coconut Oil, I untwisted the bantu knots and then undid  the two strand twists, not separating them any further because I want them to last for the entire week.  As the week progresses, I’ll most likely separate them out even more to have a fuller effect.  And here’s the finished product 🙂

Yeah…lots of pics this time lol.  But yeah!  I loved the results!  Can’t wait to see how it’ll look as I continue to separate and fluff throughout the week!  See yall at the next Weekly Wash! 🙂

Love and God Bless,

– T

3 thoughts on “Weekly Wash #5: The Bantu Knot Out

Leave a Reply

